Book Fasting Pledge

Here is my post, for a pledge on book fasting. But first and foremost, let me just say…

I JUST BOUGHT A NEW BOOK!!! Behold an addition to my shelf: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

20130805-122817.jpg

I went to SM Bacoor earlier because I’m going to buy pens. Unfortunately, I did not buy a pen because there was no Dong-A 0.3 refill. I was about to go out of National Bookstore because I really REALLY do not want to be tempted to buy a new book like Anna and The French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, or Thirteen Reasons Why. But then, this book caught my attention and I immediately grabbed it from the shelf. I was actually looking for other copies and found none. IT WAS THE LAST COPY.

So what did I do?

I bought it, of course.

I have already read this story and I loved it. That’s why I have no regrets in buying it. Plus, it was the first time I saw it selling in a Filipino bookstore and seeing it was the last one, I took the opportunity and grabbed it. Literally. So now I have a new addition to my shelf and I am poor for the next week or so.

As for my book fasting pledge, I am pledging to refrain from reading from today, August 5, 2013 up to August 18, 2013 for I need to concentrate on my studies and study for our midterm examinations. I have a lot of catching up to do with certain subjects so pleasure-reading is a big no-no for the said dates.

I hope I get to achieve this pledge. Books are my greatest seducers.

One thought on “Book Fasting Pledge

Leave a Reply

